“The very instant that I saw you, did my heart fly to your service.”

The Tempest, Act 3, Scene 1

William Shakespeare

Yes, that’s right everyone – I’m in love *cue romantic, soaring violins and birds tweeting*

Last week I found the most perfect book ever, in one of the most perfect bookshops ever (Blackwells, in Oxford), and I want, nay need, to tell you about it!

121210-223459

It’s called ‘Shakespeare Quotations’ by The Arden Shakespeare, and even though it’s not a book for reading as such, it’s just so pretty and lovely and special that you all need to go buy it. Like, now 😉121210-224711

This is why I couldn’t cope with just a Kindle. I get that they’re useful for journeys, holidays, etc, but this book is purple. And hardback. And it has a purple bookmark and a pink inside cover and silver words on the front and a lovely cover and it’s the perfect size and it just feels right and even if I never use it I still love it so much. Although I did use it on both my blog posts today (you lucky things, getting two in one day 😉 ), so it’s already been worth it.

 

 

3 comments on ““The very instant that I saw you, did my heart fly to your service.”

  1. I’m loving your Shakespeare inspired posts, this looks like such a good book too! 🙂 I’m at University currently taking a Shakespeare module and I just had to buy his complete works … currently making my way throught it aha!

    • alicesusanna says:

      Ah, thank you 🙂 Glad you’re enjoying them! I’m just applying to Uni now for English; looking for some good Shakespeare modules 😉

      • Ah that’s cool! Good luck with applying 🙂 I’m in my second year at Reading Uni and chose it partly because of the Shakespeare module this year … Be sure to look at the modules in the second year too, sometimes the first year just does like an overview of everything and then gets more specific!

Leave a Reply

