“Painfully to pore upon a book to seek the light of truth”

Love’s Labour’s Lost, Act 1, Scene 1

William Shakespeare

After reading a couple of book blogs on here, I’ve decided to take up… *dramatic duh,duh, duuuhhh and drum-roll*…the 30 Day Book Challenge. Since, even with my fabulous purple hardback, I can’t find 30 Shakespearean quotes about reading and books, I’m going to do this week by week, rather than daily. So, without further ado, as Raven would say:

“Let the Challenge…Begin.”untitled

DAY 1: Favourite Book –Well, I’m going to refuse to answer this question on principle; there are too many good books out there, lots of which I haven’t read, and I simply can’t choose which one is my favourite. Sorry guys!

DAY 2: Least Favourite Book – Another difficult question… probably ‘The Portrait of a Lady’ byimages Henry James. I have to be honest, it was a struggle getting through this. I originally read it in preparation for my AS Level text ‘The Turn of the Screw’ last summer and I didn’t like any of the characters except Ralph, who *SPOILER ALERT* dies at the end. That said, it prepared me for the unsatisfying ending of TOTS – it must be a trademark of James’ or something. His descriptions take pages and pages to get through, each sentence becoming more and more convoluted, as the meaning gets lost amongst the constant commas and semi-colons and dashes and colons and conjunctives, and brackets and clauses and semi-clauses… I must have re-read the same page at least five times. Maybe other people would like this book, but… for me, no.

DAY 3: Book that makes you laugh out loud – Actually, I’m just reading ‘The Lost Continent’ by Bill Brysoimagesn at the moment and it is super funny:

“My grandmother was the only person I ever knew – possibly the only person who ever lived – who actually made things from the recipes on the backs of food packets. These dishes always had names like ‘Rice Krispies ‘n’ Banana Chunks Upside-Down Cake’ or ‘Del Monte Lima Bean ‘n’ Pretzels Party Snacks’. Generally they consisted of suspiciously large amounts of the manufacturer’s own products, usually in combinations you wouldn’t think of except perhaps in an especially severe famine.”

I have a head cold at the moment, and this book is definitely a great, easy read for those times when you just need something relaxing and uncomplicated, which I, at least, found very funny.

DAY 4: Book that makes you cry – I’m not meaning to impress you or anything, but I actually don’t cry at books very often. I know, the memeuntitled on the right says it all 😉 It’s a bit of a cliche, but the last Harry Potter did make me cry – how could she kill off Fred and Lupin?? (yep, I didn’t even put a *SPOILER ALERT* sign on there, because if you haven’t read the Harry Potter series WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN DOING WITH YOUR LIFE??)

(I joke, of course. But read them. Please.)

DAY 5: Book you wish you could live in – ‘The Chronicles of Narnia’ by CS Lewis specifically, ‘The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe’. I love these books, but this or ‘The Voyage of the Dawn Treader’ is probably my favourite; it has Christmas, snow, battles, Aslan, talking beavers and trees, summer, coronations…need I go on? I think children’s literature is probably the easiest thing to answer this question with, since those worlds are the most fantastical and perfect, and often have the most detailed descriptions, as I think kids are happier listening to/reading pages of imagery and similies to form a detailed picture in their imagination, which means these worlds are the some of the most fully formed of any.

DAY 6: Favourite young adult book- Hmm… I was going to be completely predictable and say ‘The Hunger Games’ trilogy by Suzanne Collins. But although I absolutely loved these, my favourite would have to be ‘Life As We Knew It’ by Susan Pfeffer. I picked this up on the suntitledpur of the moment at my school library, and it’s ridiculously gripping. Whenever I heard the words ‘sci-fi’ before, I had been sceptical, but this book is just too good; the moon gets knocked out of its orbit, causing huge tidal waves, famine, etc. and it’s told from the viewpoint of a teenage girl. Seriously tense.

DAY 7: Book you can quote/recite- Well, not to sound like a total nerd, but I can quote Juliet’s speech from the balcony scene in Shakespeare’s ‘Romeo and Juliet’. Awfully, since this is a book blog, I find it much easier to quote lines from films or audiobooks than from books, because I get too caught up in the descriptions or the emotions behind the characters to remember the actual lines. This means I can quote many, many Agatha Christies, Meg Cabots and ‘Emma’ by Jane Austen, but not some of my absolute favourites, like Catch-22.

That’s it for this week, but keep checking back for another seven next Sunday (when there’ll be only 2 days ’till Christmas!) and for other book reviews. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

