“Things past redress are now with me past care”

Richard II, Act 2, Scene 3

William Shakespeare

I’m sorry, ok? I was out at Winter Wonderland and then watched ‘The Man with the Golden Gun’ with my family and completley forgot to post the second update of my 30-day book challenge. I know, I know, shocking. So that’s what this post’s title is about – regret, remorse and moving on! So, let’s hasten ahead to…

DAY 8: An unpopular book you believe should be a bestseller – This one was tricky, since for imagesthe past year I’ve mostly been reading classics, or popular modern books to give myself a good grounding for university and A Level English. But after a much consideration, I came up with two. The first is a kids book, ‘Cosmic’ by Frank Cottrell Boyce, who is an absolutely amazing author – I’m not sure how popular this book is, but no one I ever speak to has heard of it. It’s about Liam who’s a twelve-year-old kid who looks around thirty. Liam cons his way onto the first spaceship to take civilians into space, as the adult chaperone for a group of four children. It’s not long before Liam, in charge of cimageshildren the same age as him, is stuck between in space, where he’s always wanted to be—only unfortunately he’s 239,000 miles from home. If you’ve got kids, buy them this, it’s amazing 🙂 The second book is ‘Bang, Bang, You’re Dead’ by Narinder Dhami – I think this might be another childrens book, but it deals with some quite adult themes, so personally, I think anyone can read it. Mia goes to school one day to hear about a gunman prowling the corridors. She remembers hearing her brother threatening to do something ‘bad’, and through her memories you discover about her family, her past, her personality – the best bit is the HUGE twist at the end – you’ll never guess it.

DAY 9: A book you’ve read more than once- ummm… every book?! I always re-read books if I’ve enjoyed them over and over again. But a key one I read twice is ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ bimagesy Harper Lee. I think I read this too young the first time, or I just wasn’t in the right mood, but whatever it was, I didn’t enjoy it that much the first time. However, I re-read it a few years ago, and, like almost everyone else, loved it (of course!)

DAY 10: The first novel you remember reading – probably ‘The Faraway Tree’ by Enid Blyton. These are some of the best children’s books EVER. Again, if you have kids, BUY/BORROW THEM IMMEDIATELY

DAY 11: The book that made you fall in love with reading – Every single one of the Noel Streatfield books plus ‘The Swish of the Curtain’ by Pamela Brown.

DAY 12: A book so emotionally draining you couldn’t complete it or had to set it aside – Definitely the third in the Hunger Games series – imagesMockingjay by Suzanne Collins. Yeah, it’s massively mainstream, but with good reason. The first two are brilliant and then this one… just… no. She just decides to kill off every single likeable character – not fair.

DAY 13: Nonfiction book that you enjoyed – ‘The Genius of Shakespeare’ by Jonathan Bate. LOVE this book – everything is interesting and easy to understand – but more on it later, I’ll do a whole separate blog post on all my Shakespeare books. Suffice to say that it’s way better than I expected.

DAY 14: Book that should be on high school/college required reading list – Another Shakespeare book that I’ll discuss later (partly because I have a lot to say, and partly because IT’S CHRISTMAS EVE and I need to go hang up my imagesstocking 😉 ): ‘Shakespeare on Toast’ by Ben Crystal. I  initially thought this was a little patronising, but actually it explains everything you need/want to know about Shakespeare to a high standard, but very easily and enjoyably. I think that if some of my fellow students at GCSE English had maybe read this, our discussions on ‘The Merchant of Venice’ might have produced something more than the obvious ‘Is Shylock a racist?’ question

Anyway, so that’s that for this blog post. I’ll try and update more during the week, but I might be reading through all the books in my book pile so I can’t promise anything! Have an amazing Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

