“The teeming autumn big with rich increase”

Sonnet 97, Line 6
William Shakespeare

My September book haul! Despite getting hugely dragged down by Kerouac‘s ‘On The Road’ and Conrad‘s ‘The Secret Agent’, I just about kept up with my target, and especially enjoyed both ‘Brave New World’ (as I’ve already written about) and ‘The War of the Worlds’ by HG Wells.

I also read the disturbing, but fascinating ‘The Testament of Mary’ by Colm Tóibín, the second in the Regeneration Trilogy, ‘The Eye in the Door’ by Pat Barker – better than the third, not as good as the first in the series – and the better-than-I-expected ‘Where Angels Fear to Tread’ by E.M.Forster. Rather appropriately, I started ‘Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer on 9/11, and I wasn’t disappointed, despite the crazy, over the top praise it has since garnered. Yes, I wasn’t too keen on the ending but it was actually perfectly charming. However, another much-lauded book, ‘The Kite Runner’, was kind of frustrating – just not as good as I’d been led to believe.

More detailed reviews of these books coming up soon!

3 comments on ““The teeming autumn big with rich increase”

  1. I’m planning on reading The Testament of Mary in November. So excited for it! Glad to see you’ve got it on your radar.

Leave a Reply

