“With the best …

“With the best I have in me, I have tried to write more happiness into the world”

Frances Hodgson Burnett

I hope I can do the same one day. Found at the New York Public Library’s awesome ‘ABC: Why Children’s Books Matter’ exhibition, which I went to today, after a free guided tour around the library itself. However, the exhibition was definitely my favourite bit.
IMG_1051

Other fun stuff I found…

…this lovely quote from Hans Christian Anderson:

“Life itself is the most wonderful fairytale”

…this slightly less lovely quote from a clearly idiotic Jean-Jacques Rousseau:

“Reading is the scourge of childhood”

– Looks like it’s somebody’s nap time!

…the actual original Pooh Bear toys:

The original Eeyore, Tigger, Kanga, Piglet and Pooh

The original Eeyore, Tigger, Kanga, Piglet and Pooh


…and finally this fun fact:

The famous ‘The Very Hungry Caterpillar’ book by Eric Carle was originally to be named ‘A Week With Willie Worm’.

Yeah, even children’s authors have their bad days.

Leave a Reply

